Virat Kohli Dominates ICC Awards, Named Captain of Test

Author : Odisha Today Bureau | Posted on: 2019-01-23

The man of the moment Virat Kohli on Tuesday became the first cricketer to make a clean dominance at the ICC’s annual individual awards and was also named captain of test and ODIs teams of the year. He became the first player in history to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year—his second consecutive, the ICC Test and the ODI Player of the Year awards following an extraordinary 2018. Likewise, the rapidly emerging wicket-keeper of India Rishabh Pant was also awarded the ICC’s Emerging Cricketer of the year.

The ICC released a statement, “Not only Virat the first player to win these three major ICC award but he has also been named the captain of the ICC test and ODI team of the year for a fabulous run in the International cricket.

Kohli was quoted as saying by the world body in a release, “It’s a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the year. Having recognition at the global level from the ICC is something you feel proud off as a cricketer because you understand that there are many players playing the game and obviously it’s a very proud moment for me which gives me motivation to improve my performance standard and to consistently give my level best in all the matches”.

Other awards include, the Indian under-19 team’s World Cup triumph in New Zealand was declared as the Fans Moment of the Year with 48 per cent votes. Sri Lanka’s Kumar Dharmasena was voted Umpire of the Year by international captains and ICCs match referees, thereby winning the David Shepherd Trophy for a second time.

Leave A Comment

Rajni Das
The way Kohli represented the citys cricket team at various age-group levels, i just love it....
Sneha Rao
Kholi is one of the right-handed top-order batsman, he is regarded as one of the bestest batsmen in the world....
Rupali Jena
I am a big fans of yours Virat...
Denesh Agarwal
The best cricketer in the world.....
Odisha Today Talks to Sri Nishikanta Mohapatra, Convenor, AA...
Odisha Today Talks to Sri Nishikanta Mohapatra, Convenor, AA...
Odisha Today Talks to Sri Nishikanta Mohapatra, Convenor, AA...

International News

You May Also Like

News Poll

Who is going to win Barchana MLA constituency?

A) Amar Prasad Satpathy (BJD)
B) Amar Nayak (BJP)
C) Ajaya Samal(Congress)
D) Independent/others

News Updates

Bhubaneswar (Ekamra) Assembly Constituency BJP Candidate Bab...
Bhubaneswar (Ekamra) Assembly Constituency BJP Candidate Bab...